Time on Valentine’s Day

Well, it is Valentine’s Day.  I love this holiday, but at the same time, I get dizzy from all the pink and red and flowers and candy and chocolate…

My friend told me today that Valentine’s Day should be renamed to “Single’s Awareness Day”.  I thought it was very good insight.

I was proud of myself for making it through today with my head held high.  All I did today was write poetry.  My notebook is now a little bit too full, but that is fine.  Anyway, Valentine’s Day is a day to hold your head up, put it in the clouds, and let it sit there.  You can think about anything you want, and no one will bother you (most likely) because today is special.  My friends and I celebrate today by buying a bag of candy and eating it all…I always feel guilty afterwards, but oh well.  It’s Valentine’s Day.

Here is one of my Valentine’s Day poems that I came up with today:

Time

Seeing the numbers flying off the clock

Like petals falling off the rose

Love blossoms into this beautiful masterpiece

And no one knows where and when it started

On your shoulder sits the heart of an angel

And you can’t lose it

Or you think you’ll lose everything

You are in your own

Like floating in air, above, and looking down

Don’t run out of time

Trust that you won’t fall

Throw your trust into their arms

Let it decide the rest

10 thoughts on “Time on Valentine’s Day

  1. A beautiful poem, indeed … very profound, very poignant!

    In my native country, we didn’t get Valentine’s Day until the late 60’s. There, it’s not only about love between two people, but also about friendship and heart health. I wrote a little about it today.

    Which country do you live in?

What do you think?

